Information about this institution has not been validated by the institution itself.


General information

EUC Number (Charta): 223333
Erasmus Code: F RENNES14
EHESP, or Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sante Publique, is known as the EHESP School of Public Health. With a campus in Rennes and Paris it is designed to form the next generation of French and international professionals in public health. It is a 'grand ecole.' EHESP employs 70 full time professors and has a student population of 1,100 (excluding the 4,500 training participants).

The Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Santé Publique was signed into being January 1 2008, changing its name from the ENSP (Ecole Nationale de la Santé Publique). The French government set up the school in 1945 as a means of developing a management personnel in the public sector who were able to apply the major social security laws passed in 1945 and construct the new health and welfare administrative infrastructure after the Liberation.

The ENSP was responsible for the professional development of medical and paramedical public health workers as well as health technicians. Post War legislation, political and economic changes and international collaboration very soon called for a wider range of specialised training courses for public health management personnel.

1960 marked the independence of ENSP, allowing it to hire permanent teaching personnel. The campus moved from Paris to Rennes in 1961. In 2008, the increasing complexity and interdisciplinary nature of public health fostered the change in mission from isolated vocational departments to international, interdisciplinary education. The 2004 public health law further emphasized the international aim of post-graduate public health education in France. Although already internationally recognized for its work with the World Health Organization, EHESP further gained an international image through its' various International Programs taught in both French and English. The ENSP became the Ecole des Hautes Études en Santé Publique (EHESP) on January 1, 2008.

On February 9, 2010, it joined 4 universities and other higher educational establishments to form Paris Cite. Paris Cite is composed of Paris-3 Sorbonne Nouvelle, Paris-5 Descartes, Paris-7 Diderot and Paris-13 Nord Villetaneuse (Seine-Saint-Denis) as associate members. 4 grand establishments, EHESP School of public health, Sciences-Po Paris, l’Institut national des langues et civilisations orientales (Inalco, National Institute of languages and oriental civilizations), l’Institut de physique du globe de Paris (Physics Institute of Paris).

Network memberships

Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie (AUF)


No ranking is available for this institution.
Login / Register
Search plugin