Document Actions

Connecticut State University System

General Information

The Connecticut State University System is a public university system in Connecticut. It consists of four comprehensive universities with more than 35,000 students and 180,000 alumni. The system dates back to the founding Central Connecticut State University in 1849 as a normal school for teacher education. Over time the other three units were founded as normal schools and in 1959 they were converted into state colleges to reflect their expanded mission. In 1983 the four units were converted into universities. From their founding under 1965, the units were overseen by the Connecticut State Department of Education. In 1965 the General Assembly transferred control of the then-colleges to an independent Board of Trustees to oversee the entire system.
Bernard Kavaler
United States
Login / Register
Search plugin