General information

Ceske Budejovice
EUC Number (Charta): 48844
Erasmus Code: CZ CESKE01
The University of South Bohemia in České Buděiovice is a public institution of advanced learning. Its study programmes BSc., MSc. and PhD. include educational, scientific, research, innovative, artistic and other creative activities which are developed in various branches of studies of Economics, Humanities, Pedagogy, Natural Sciences, Theology as well as Fine Arts, Agriculture, Social and Health Studies.
From the long-term point of view the University of South Bohemia profiles itself as a research-based university with activities oriented at matters mainly concerning Natural Sciences, Agricultural Sciences and Humanities. A significant element of scientific research activities of this university is close cooperation with the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic.

The University of South Bohemia was established in 1991. Its basis was formed from the two oldest faculties of South Bohemia, the Pedagogical Faculty (founded in 1948) and the Faculty of Agriculture (founded in 1960).The Faculty of Biological Sciences, the Faculty of Theology and the Faculty of Health and Social Studies were the newly established faculties. In 1996 the Research Institute of Fish Farming and Hydrobiology located in Vodňany was included to the university structure as well as the Institute of Physical Biology located in Nové Hrady in 2002. The Philosophical Faculty established in 2006 and the Faculty of Economics established in January 2007 are the youngest faculties of the university.

Accredited Bachelor, Master and Doctoral study programmes form a broader educational basis for 170 study branches with a range of specializations in a full-time as well as a part-time study form. Lectures and seminars of sixteen study branches are lead in the English language and three branches in the German language. Presently almost 11,000 students are studying at the university.

Network memberships

European network of International Relations Officers at Higher Eduation Institutions for Agricultura (IROICA)


No ranking is available for this institution.

Faculties / Schools

Faculty of Agriculture (Zemědělská fakulta)
Faculty of Economics (Ekonomická fakulta)
Faculty of Education (Pedagogická fakulta)
Faculty of Fisheries and Protection of Waters (Fakulta rybářství a ochrany vod)
Faculty of Health and Social Studies (Zdravotně sociální fakulta)
Faculty of Philosophy (Filozofická fakulta)
Faculty of Science (Přírodovědecká fakulta)
Faculty of Theology (Teologická fakulta)
Login / Register
Search plugin